SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

R.I.P. Sharon Jones

4 Comments

So heartbreaking. I was so fortunate to see Sharon Jones and the dap Kings open for Prince. And now come 2016 they are both gone. She was an anomoly. A middle aged Black woman who began her career late and and came out strong. She was and is a goddess! May her music inspire and her spirit live on. Thank you and rest in power Sharon.

BROTHA WOLF

sharon_jones3

From The Root:

Legendary singer Sharon Jones passed away Friday at the age of 60 after battling pancreatic cancer. Jones, who was part of Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings, was born in North August, South Carolina in 1956, and raised in Brooklyn, NY.

“We are deeply saddened to announce that Sharon Jones has passed away after a heroic battle against pancreatic cancer,” the singer’s rep wrote in a statement. “She was surrounded by her loved ones, including the Dap-Kings.”

Jones was first diagnosed with cancer in 2012, but went into remission, and it returned in 2015.

Click here to read the rest of this article.

View original post

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

4 thoughts on “R.I.P. Sharon Jones

  1. I just saw this the other day on the news – I didn’t know much about her but when they showed her singing I remembered her right away. Such a fabulous voice!

  2. I cried. I saw her perform 2 years ago and she was unbelievable in person! I hope she is dancing on!

Leave a Reply

