SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

Basic Black#ThriftyThursday

3 Comments

cover-basic-black

So it’s been ages since I did a Thrifty Thursday but was inspired upon seeing Confession of a Fashiontista ‘s Sheri’s latest blog post. She runs  Refashion Nation and organizes weekly themes to inspire folx to show off their thrifted and refashioned treasures! I actually found my treasure yesterday! These men’s Brogues fit perfectly are nicely broken in and have many more years in them. I am psyched to have found a new comfy and stylish pair of Black shoes suitable for both work and play.

Thrifty Thursday Brogues.jpg

The other gem of this post is my second refashioned shirt dress. The first is a denim number you can find here! I live in that dress have nearly worn it out already. This time around I finally used an old bedsheet in a refashion. It was gifted to me in a huge bag of fabric I inherited. I used it to create a skirt to add to a button up shirt that I wasn’t wearing. I love my boxy new shirt dress which is as Basic as it gets! And I definitely need to grow the basics in my closet. Below is a couple of visual maps on how I did the refashion. It is fairly self-explanatory.

collage-diy-1

collage-diy-2

And there you have it. A basic number that I can wear to work, or out for the weekend with my docs or peep toes or sandals… this is L.A.! I’m not mad at this little black day dress which will be hard at work for me for a long time to come.

basic-black1basic-black2basic-black3

If you like and want to support the blog consider donating at PayPal.me Be well!

xoxo,

Blog Signature

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

3 thoughts on “Basic Black#ThriftyThursday

  1. I can definitely see the brogues with a fun pair of socks. I’m amazed that you were able to get the same shade of black in the blouse and the sheet – did you end up dyeing the dress, or was it just great luck?

    • Thanks Meg! Funny you say that! I spent a lot of time trying to match the Blacks! with several different fabrics, including knits. The shirt has both knit and woven fabric, and it just so happened that the bedsheet was closest to the woven. Total luck! It’s not a perfect match, and I did intend to dye it (I have Black rit dye) but it was close enough that I decided against doing it! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Work Capsule Wardrobe: Retro Shift Dress | SweetLeigh

Leave a Reply

