SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

Moodboard: Autumn Vibes 2016

2 Comments

autumn-vibes2

Fall is my jam. It is the time of year that I miss the east coast’s turning leaves, waning temperatures, light-weight coats and sweater weather, wearing tights while gusts of wind lift my skirts! Sigh…. Being a west coaster my Autumn vibes still employ cozy sweaters for the dropping temps, if mainly at night, my favorite muted colors and most definitely layering it up. It also marks a return to getting my high femme on. A little bit of high drama in my styling choices as the layers pile on.

autumn-vibes1

Autumn also begins “holiday” season. There are my favorites Halloween (Samhain) and Day of the Dead, an evolution of the Catholic All Soul’s Day, which is celebrated throughout a number of both Spanish and non-Spanish speaking colonized countries. Many a New Year is celebrated included Hibri, the Islamic New Year which begins in mid-November. The Wiccan celebration Mabon and the Autumn Equinox occurs, celebrating the harvest time and gratitude. Many Yoruban orishas have feast days throughout Autumn including one of my favorite Yoruban Goddesses Oya. It is also Feast of Eleggua, an Initiation Day into the Yoruba Faith (Nigerian religion).

autumn-vibes3

There is lots of magic in the season which is probably why I have such an affinity for it.  Autumn is the season where nature fades and starts to die off leading into Winter. For me, the dying off is a shedding of skin and relinquishing of that which doesn’t serve. It is the beginning of making way for all that’s new.  I am inspired and energized by the Fall in spite of any challenges or hardships. For me,  it is organically a very freeing season.

The full moon has passed and the Autumn Equinox is here and there will be celebrations. Enjoy them. Right now its dusk giving way to night and the trees are rustling and I peep a deep blue and tawny sky out of my window and the breeze greets me and I am truly content. The smallest moments are filled with gratitude, the falling leaves, my tea and tarot, a favorite autumn meal, the shedding of skin. Enjoy the magick of Autumn, before you know it, it will be gone.

If you like and want to support the blog consider tipping me at PayPal.me Be well.

xoxo

Blog Signature

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

2 thoughts on “Moodboard: Autumn Vibes 2016

  1. omg- those moodboards are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

