SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

Magick: A Full Moon & the Summer Solstice

2 Comments

Honey Moon by Vanessa Leigh

The Summer Solstice is the longest day of the year. The Sun is at it’s highest and we get to bathe in sunlight for that much longer. Some are suffering and are at risk from this heat wave in the U.S. we are having, and I send you and myself love and respite from it. Let’s be mindful loves and take care of ourselves. A Honey Moon is seen at it’s lowest point in the atmosphere.  Because of this, there may be an amber haze to it which is why it is called a Honey Moon. Too delicious.

I will spend the solstice at the beach finally. I have been needing to be near open water and I will be doing some ritual because the time is ripe. A full Moon in combination with the Solstice and all sorts of astrological goings on synched with my chart makes this a gorgeous time to  attempt some karmic completion and break old harmful habits or at least begin to. YES PLEASE! ❤

Chani Nicholas reminds us that the second full moon in a row in Sagittarius, which is my Moon sign and ascending sign. “It puts a double emphasizes not only  on the house that contains Sagittarius in our personal astrology charts, but also on the themes of Sagittarius for us collectively. Sagittarius is the archer, the rambler, the gambler, the one who bets on hope and runs on faith. Sagittarius moves. Swiftly. Sagittarius seeks. Endlessly. Seeks meaning. Seeks experience. Seeks the horizon. The archer can’t stop for fear of missing out on the next adventure. This is the sign that wants to run with the big questions. The ones that are sure to send us on the most open-ended quests.” For me too many questions at times. 

I am so excited for this seasonal shift and its correlation with the full moon and I plan to charge my crystals in the moon, make some moon water, and charge some herbal infused oils I recently made. I normally find myself more excited by the New Moon to set intentions, but this year with all of my shadow work and this astrological time being right to settle our karma, I will look forward to cleansing rituals.

The full moon is best used for banishing spells, releasing those things that don’t serve you and for I will be releasing long-standing patterns that don’t serve me. The waning moon is a time for forgiveness, acceptance, surrender and learning lessons. So I will be engaged in rituals that support all of those things for the duration of the waning cycle.

The moon will be visible Sunday evening, early Monday and Monday night. The Full Moon is technically full for 48 hours, Twice the Honey, hunnies. So should you care to simply celebrate the moon with a cleansing ritual on the longest day of the year with the Sumer Solstice, join me. Tell me how it worked out for you.

xoxo,

Blog Signature

 

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

2 thoughts on “Magick: A Full Moon & the Summer Solstice

  1. Y’know, in years past I used to have my own rituals for the Solstices and the Equinoxes, and I have gotten away from that. I’ve been nodding at them, but not acknowledging them. Time for a change.

Leave a Reply

