SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

Magick: Moondays & The Wheel of Fortune

4 Comments

Happy Lunar New Year friends and Happy New Moon! For the first time in a long time, time, seems to be moving slowly for me. And I really like it.

When I was 21, I worked at a divination and new age emporium of sorts that offered psychic readings, astrological charting and every imaginable tool for one’s healing, mystical or magical tasks. My friends and I did Tarot often, I used the Aleister Crowley Tarot deck pretty exclusively for close to 10 years! That is until I lost it. Or misplaced it, I honestly don’t know which. My life took many turns and somewhere along the way I stopped doing Tarot. I guess I considered it unnecessary and perhaps too much information.

The Tarot is a pack of 78 playing cards that have been around since the mid-15th century in Europe. From the late 18th century on, Tarot cards have been used both for divination (predicting the future) as well as a kind of guided meditation.  The cards are categorized either as Major Arcana or Minor Arcana. The 22 Major Arcana cards depict images like the Hanged Man, the Devil, the Wheel of Life and the Fool. The 56 Minor Arcana cards are suit cards, but rather than the spades, hearts, diamonds and clubs found in a traditional deck, there are wands, swords, cups and pentacles. There is a plethora of Tarot deck styles, from the traditional Rider-Waite deck to more contemporary decks with themes ranging japanese magna to pop culture icons, geometrics and goddess decks.  source

tarot-deck

Above is one a few versions of the classic Rider-Waite tarot, illustrated by Pamela Colman Smith. 

Since I have remembered my love of tarot I have made a few friends online who do daily readings and one or two who will give group readings. They will lay out three cards number them one to three, and either by the end of day or following day they will reveal the cards to you and provide an interpretation of each card’s meaning. I did one such reading Sunday and found it so affirming. I pulled the The Wheel of Fortune card. Which for all intensive purposes for me means, to remember that my destiny is in my own hands. I am my own master. It often centers me to do short readings like that. Check in’s so to speak. The more I befriend readers and appreciators of tarot, the more excited I become to find another deck!  There are so many gorgeous artistic decks to chose from.

An iconic black & white Lesbian deck from the 1980s. The aesthetics of Thea’s Tarot, slay me:

Thea Tarot.jpg

The Trung Nguyen Tarot is a gorgeous, global, modern art nouveau work in progress. You can support Trung’s work on Patreon:

Trung Nguyen

I am a fan of the very minimalist first edition & the bolder 2nd edition of The Wild Unknown tarot

The Wild Unknown

The Mermaid Tarot took me by surprise, just yesterday actually, via my lovely Instagram soul sister @pretty.medicine.

Mermaid Tarot

The simple illustrative style of Spirit Speak Tarot just plain speaks to me.

Spirit Speak Tarot (2)

Tarot del Fuego stole my heart on sight! Ricardo Cavolo’s art makes me happy:

fuego_k1

So many beautiful choices ahead.

xoxo,

Blog Signature

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

4 thoughts on “Magick: Moondays & The Wheel of Fortune

  1. They’re all so beautiful 🙂 I just had the most powerful tarot reading done last week, and my mind is still spinning from it all… it’s such an incredible, fascinating craft, I’d love to learn it! Maybe I should just buy a beautiful set of cards to look at for now!

  2. This is beautiful, Vanessa. I will pull the Wheel of Fortune card vicariously through you because things get cloudy when we begin to make comparisons with our own lives. We each must walk our own path. Thanks, V. XXOO

    • They certainly do my love! It often doesn’t even take a comparison to drive us into confusion and feeling chaotic. You know that about me well, better than most. A little help walking our path doesn’t hurt…. ❤ xoxoxoxo Miss your FACE! ❤

Leave a Reply

