SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

Falling Forward

2 Comments

Somehow it feels like ages since I have posted and I am amazed that I didn’t manage to get a Halloween post up, yet! But all is well. Life has been fully engaged and some things just didn’t happen. Things have ended, begun a new, and it has been a busy month prepping for Halloween at SweetLeigh, my sweet little Etsy shop of millinery confections.

SweetLeigh MadeCreativity is the thing. A custom order for a Miss Argentina cape viaBeetlejuice became a siren call for a rush of orders for more and some other pieces for Halloween. The custom order took ages for me to figure out but once I did I managed to keep refining my wired cape and exercised some skills I haven’t been utilizing lately. Not to mention I always find hand sewing to be very cathartic. To create something from “nothing” is a gift that I treasure. I plan to keep this costume piece in my shop rotation and offer it in Black as well.

Mummy Mood BoardA related trip to the Fabric District in Downtown L.A. scored some materials from my fave fabric outlet store, Michael Levine Loft! I scored some great knits that got me excited to explore some new sewing projects for Halloween and beyond. I’m thinking sustainably about creating wearable maxis that will be the basis for my costumes this year so that I don’t feel tempted to throw out or donate what I make for Halloween. I always say it is about the vibe, and the details, makeup and accessories will be the bulk of my looks.

PicMonkey Collage

Some of my inspiration is in these mood boards. Above, you can see that the basis for both a Creature from the Black Lagoon inspired look and a Cleopatra look is a green dress from the 1963 version of Cleopatra. I first decided to make one dress for both looks, but now I’m seriously considering combining the Creature and Cleo as one costume. Think Star Trek Orion slave girl with gills….

Drawlloween

I’ve also been reading and drawing a lot. I joined a fun Instagram challenge called #Drawlloween where we get Halloween inspired prompts daily for the month of October. It has become very much a nightly meditation ritual.  It has also got me excited to sketch and draw with pen and ink and it’s definitely pushing me to a creative place.

Manifesting

I’ve been exploring and celebrating my pagan sensibilities getting grounded and been manifesting magic with the support of some of my favorite witches. Sometimes when things you have planned get away from you, it is not falling behind, but falling forward.

xoxo,

Blog Signature

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

2 thoughts on “Falling Forward

  1. Welcome back! I was wondering where you were. Glad your creative mojo is alive and kicking!

Leave a Reply

