SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

ReFashion 2015: Office Nook Makeover

4 Comments

Office Nook Makeover

ReFashion 2015 Home Edition! So I’ve been coveting beautiful home spaces and thinking about projects that I could immediately implement without spending any money to beautifying my living space. Not to mention focussing my energy on manifesting my ideal living situation.

I decided to do a simple makeover of the space where I write and edit all of these fabulous blog posts! So I started with making over the poor battered and dented lampshade.

LampShade Trim and Measurements

I have a huge roll of this black and white trim  that I scored from Michael Levine Fabrics Loft space. The Loft is where I get most of my fabric and is where Michael Levine Fabrics sells their end pieces, and unsold unseasonable fabrics.

  • I first measured pieces of the trim to fit the lampshade.
  • Then I took out my rarely used but much-loved glue gun and started laying out my trim on the lampshade.
  • So simple, so effective! Instant gratification!

11822557_10152904470932003_7868431982847777515_n

Next, I tackled my cork board! Oddly enough it never occurred to me to put it near the computer!? So Once I did that, I wasn’t feeling it and decided to quickly remake it with a simple white paint job.

  • I used Non-toxic water-based paint and let it air dry in the sun.
  • I removed any paint splatter from the frame with nail polish remover.

Desk Mat

Lastly I was determined to cover up the very worn out surface of the computer desk. A particle board assemble yourself desk that is ancient so I decided on the simple cosmetic fix of a desk mat. I made a slip cover over a simple cardboard box big enough to cover the damaged desk.

  • I used the skirt of an old dress I deconstructed years ago to make my slip cover, I love the pattern.
  • I used the cardboard to cut out the shape and sewed 3 sides of the rectangle.
  • I then added a small rectangle at the bottom of the slip cover meant to fall over the edge of the desk.
  • Lastly, I made an envelope closure at the top of the slipcover, so i could tuck in the fabric and secure the cardboard once inserted.

11846749_10152901714547003_5437653898782703020_n

Voila! My new streamlined workspace! I love black and white but I need to add some warmth so we’ll see how my new space evolves! But it is already feeling better working here. Next I will be moving onto my sewing area for my next Home Refashion 2015.

xoxo

Blog Signature

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

4 thoughts on “ReFashion 2015: Office Nook Makeover

  1. Wonderful! I bet that new space is going to be inspiration catnip for you!

  2. very nice! I really love the lampshade!

  3. Cuuuute! I love all the monochrome!

Leave a Reply

