SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

ReFashion 2015: A Swimsuit Makeover

7 Comments

ReFashion Swimsuit Makeover Header

ReFashion 2015 Continues. I am late on this one! When my love Sheri from Confessions of A ReFashionista announced that this week’s Thrifty Thursday was Fab Florals, it gave me the push I needed to finish up a new swimsuit bottom. That is a future tutorial, but gave me the opportunity and showcase this swimsuit Refashion.

Fab Floral Swimsemble

Of course my gifted and refashioned kimono is my remade floral, and a great thrifted sun hat make this a Thrifty Thursday special! Some more floral love comes from my me-made swim skirt. That tutorial is coming soon! In the meantime. How do you make a skirted swim bottom a swim top!? Read on!

SwimsTop ReFashion Collage

So I had this hot pink swim bottom for a couple of years now. But I couldn’t seem to find a top I wanted to wear with it. So although I love a fringe suit, I loved the idea of the flouncy swim top. So I endeavored to take my swim separate from the bottom to the top!

  • I used a strapless bra to measure cup height and cut across the brief.
  • Next being a compulsive sewer and having a huge stash of fabric, found some orange swimsuit fabric and some floral mesh.
  • I cut two rectangles of Swimsuit fabric and one of the floral mesh about two inches wider than the former swimsuit brief now tube top.
  • I sewed my rectangles together. Mesh on one side and swimsuit fabric on the other.
  • I then sewed the rectangular to the bottom of my new tube top (mesh inside). Then I sewed the excess fabric from the sides to the backside.
  • Then I made two elastic casings in the swimwear material. I inserted the elastics and attached them to each other first, and then to my tube top.
  • Lastly, I added some elastic strips at the center bust and sides of the breast for a little definition.

The best part is that I can wear it two ways. Upside down creates a long peplum or babydoll effect, right side up I have my flounce. What’s more I can rock it as a top!

Skirted Bottom Flash   11836816_10152897403292003_264388090029020884_n

11813258_10152897409827003_2282114249261530856_n

Coming up in ReFashion 2015 are upsizing pants, my first pair of cutoffs and how to make this darling swim bottom!

xoxo

Blog Signature

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

7 thoughts on “ReFashion 2015: A Swimsuit Makeover

  1. So cute! I’m scared of working with swimsuit fabric!

    • Thanks Love! I understand that feeling well. The refashion upped my confidence big time! I doubled the fabric in both swim pieces and used a simple short zigzag stitch and hemmed the leg openings with a straight stitch. It was really simple when looking back. Most of my anxiety was fear. Fear conquered!

  2. Loved this idea! You look great! I’m a thruster and enjoying shopping for clothes there. But today I have been inspired to “re-fashion”!

    • Thank you! AND YES! I love thrifting and sewing but refashioning is green AND a never-ending source of creative inspiration. I am so excited for you and will be following your blog in anticipation!

  3. Pingback: ReFashion 2016: Resort Style, Body Acceptance & Fatkini Fall! | SweetLeigh

Leave a Reply

