SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

The Denim Sack Dress

13 Comments

Header Denim Sack Dress

ReFashion 2015 Continues with another thrifted number for my Gone Thrifting Crew! Here is the first of my Summer wardrobe capsule! A sack dress AND a shirt dress. Two items off of my inspiration boards! I am super excited about it too!

Before After Denim Sack Dress

I scored both of these denim shirts at thrift shops, one of them for a $1! I love a denim shirt but honestly wasn’t wearing either one and have always liked denim on denim. So finally I got it together!

I am all about a western yoke denim shirt and decided that clearly the yoked shirt had to be the primary part of the dress. Since it was lighter in color it creates a subtle ombre with the color blocking.

  1. I cut off the bottom of the darker shirt and pinned it to the lighter shirt.
  2. I then sewed the pieces together lining up the snaps and buttons.
  3. Next I cut off the sleeves and adjusted the armholes.
  4. I really liked the idea of adding an extra denim detail so I removed the cuffs from the sleeves and added to the armhole.

P.S. I sew but I can’t stand ironing. But believe the seams are nice and even.

11054431_10152758051647003_1220299654655436889_n

Denim Sack Dress Denim Sack Dress1

ReFashion 2015 continues with more summer staples in my Closet Makeover.

xoxo

Blog Signature

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

13 thoughts on “The Denim Sack Dress

  1. I love this! I’m looking forward to the rest of the summer capsule.

Leave a Reply

