SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

CineStyle: Pretty In Pink Of Course.

6 Comments

5122QFJSP2L

Written by John Hughes and directed by Howard Deustch, Pretty In Pink is the story of Andie Walsh (Molly Ringwald). Andie is a senior in high school from the wrong side of the tracks. She works, does well in school, and takes care of her unemployed father. He still pines away for the woman who left them behind. Although Andie is mature beyond her years and an outsider at school, she longs for the things teenagers long for, a date to the prom. When she falls in love with Blaine, a rich kid, they both become the targets of scrutiny from her best friend Duckie (Jon Cryer) and his best friend Steff (James Spader who epitomizes male white privilege in every scene) as well as their entire preppy crew. Andie has to decide whether or not to stand up for herself and what she wants and pursue a relationship with Blaine. Will they go to the prom?

Pretty-in-Pink-promo-poster

Marilyn Vance is the costume designer responsible for creating the wardrobe for the Molly Ringwald/John Hughes trifecta, Sixteen Candles, The Breakfast Club and Pretty in Pink. Divine creative madness… You could also say she is partially responsible for my love of vintage, a staple of my youth but more so that she is wholly responsible for my love of refashioning as I first witnessed in the film when Andie endeavors to make the now infamous prom dress . Thank You Marilyn Vance!

32
While Andie’s best girlfriend went the straight up punk route and the Rich kids were decked out in pure pastel prep through and through, Andie fell in between with her post punk granny chic. There were really only two looks that I absolutely loved on Andie both were pants that I immediately tried to emulate with my own wardrobe – to the amusement of the grocery store clerk. Kids are going to experiment, be kind.

6a00e5500ff5678833014e860ec1dd970d-800wi

16

Duckie is perfection. He was the best of vintage shops, so stylish, so sweet and sentimental. He wore his heart on his vintage blazer sleeves along with and pins and brooches, military patches and ofcourse those worn out fabulous Duck shoes (Creepers).

Pretty-in-Pink-pretty-in-pink-21215406-400-446

Annie-Potts-centre-mans-t-007pretty-in-pink-movie-05

The main style attraction for me in this film is by far Iona. Caring, funny, a post punk new wave chameleon. My wannabe BFF who loves glamour vintage and playing. The “Costume” looks Vance gives her are so simply, BadAss. Iona is the style star of Pretty In Pink. Easily. Blaine and Steff aren’t really worth mentioning, although James Spader will always have my heart. He was and is so good at being bad.

prettyinpink-iona

25pretty-in-pink-molly-ringwald-and-annie-potts

The Prom Dress. Most people hate it. I didn’t. I bought it hook line and sinker. This quirky, very individual girl, gathers up all of her courage and chooses to stand proud and alone at the prom – in this utterly unique design of her own making. Back then there were no sewing blogs, DIY’s, or designer’s latest collections to mimic at the touch of your computer. Back then we had to just have imagination, and read a lot. So yes, I love the extremely creative imagination of this very cool and brave 17 year old girl. I love  the dress.

7

6a00e5500ff5678833014e860ec383970d-800wi

6a00e5500ff5678833014e860ec277970d-800wi

6a00e5500ff56788330147e28f2e5a970b-800wiPrettyInPink 1329336a00d8341c630a53ef01287764a5c4970c-800wi

Movies are such a joy. And I love John Hughes films especially because I was growing up when these movies were made. They are a touchstone to my own adolescence. And somehow John Hughes always managed to touch your heart, get real and wrap it up in a never forced happy ending. I’ve been kinda blue lately. I think its time to get out my copy of Pretty In Pink. Cue OMD….

XOXO

Blog Signature

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

6 thoughts on “CineStyle: Pretty In Pink Of Course.

  1. OMG I love Pretty in Pink! Def a fave from my younger days. And I love all the fashion too. What a fun post! And I totally dug the prom dress too!

    • Yay! I LOVE that you loved the prom dress too! I adore the fashion in this film. Apparently Molly Ringwald hated it and battled with Marilyn about wearing it. She was into designer wear at the time according to an interview I read with Vance. More like The Breakfast Club….Ralph Lauren City. LOL That really was a fabulous ensemble though! Too fabulous. Who wears that to detention and brings sushi…. 😀 ❤

  2. This movie was my everything in highschool ❤

    My Pretty in Pink Thrifty Thursday from last year: http://awesomesauceasshattery.com/2014/04/03/a-pretty-in-pink-thrifty-thursday/

    "The year was 1987 and I was a lass of 14 when I first saw the film that would time & again help me through the cruelty of high school. Pretty in Pink (as with all of John Hughes’ fabulous teen angst films of the 1980’s) became my relatable escape from a world that let me know, every single day, not only did I not fit in but I was most certainly not welcome…how I wish I could go back in time & let that 14 year old know that her future holds so many incredible adventures and her quirky uniqueness that is so uncool in the microcosm of high school will soon be leading her all over the world…"

    • Ha I can’t wait to read your post! #SoMuchYES! Man that guy knew how to strike at heart chords and find the relatable in fab characters. Some Kind of Wonderful is my#1 John Hughes film though, it was his answer to all of the folks that wanted Andie to end up with Ducky. ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. Easily one of my favorite movies of all time. In fact, I made mt friends call my Ducky for two years and wore a dog tag engraved with it.

Leave a Reply

