SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

ReFashion 2015 Upsizing The Maxi Skirt

16 Comments

Sheer Mini Maxi ReFashion

Hi Lovelies! If you are just wandering onto my blog you’ll find me mid Wardrobe ReFashion! I had to share one more ReFashion2015 post before as March comes to an end! This one is another Upsize! I found this skirt at the thrift store. It was probably a size 14. I wear dress and bottoms from size 22-26! But it was an extremely full gathered circle skirt and if you remember from my last resize, that means it can be let out and the fabric more than accommodated my wider waist! Since the fabric of the skirt is sheer I thought it would be a nice way to show some of my best assets, my smokin’ hot legs! It Leggings, or tights makes it seasonless.untitled

ReFashion Sheer Mini Maxi Sew guide

  1. First I cut the waist band off of the skirt to let out the true width of fabric.
  2. Next I set aside some elastic and a new waist band to attach later.
  3. I used a T-shirt to replace the long polyester blend slip that was now too small. I cut the collar and sleeves off of an oversize t-shirt for my new slip. But you can also cut two rectangles of fabric of your choice if you sew and have fabric you’d like to use. You can also change it up and play with different colors if you like.
  4. Lastly I attached the slip the skirt, before sewing them to the new waistband. Then I insert the elastic as outlined in the Jogger Pant tutorial and there you have my newly ReFashioned Sheer Mini Maxi.

Suburban Sprawl 1

The Sheer Mini Maxi w/ boots and a Leather Jacket for very sunny California Autumn.

Sheer Maxi 1

Here is my simple style take on the Mini Maxi for Spring/Summer w/ my fave wedges, Dr. Scholls.

Sheer Maxi 3

XOXOXO

Blog Signature

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

16 thoughts on “ReFashion 2015 Upsizing The Maxi Skirt

  1. I love the refashion, but the thing that really caught my attention is that you shared your dress size to the whole world. You’re such an inspiration to me! Thanks for being such a beautiful model of self-acceptance for those of us who are on the same path, but haven’t gotten quite as far yet.

    • Thanks so much Angie! You know that was the last thing I expected to hear because it has finally just become a fact, no more or less then any other fact about me, like the color of my eyes. 😀 Also I get to brag about converting small to average clothes to items I can rock upsized many sizes! All is possible! Thanks for the Lovely reminder that I have come a long way too! To self acceptance, i trust you will get there beautifully! ❤

  2. This refashion is cool – the sheer fabric doesnt make the dress too overwhelming.

  3. I’m loving the sheer maxi and I love how you updated the slip using a tee. Awesome refashion Vane!

  4. I love this dress! Beautiful job.

Leave a Reply

