SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

Refashion 2015: The Jogger Pant

16 Comments

Before Jogger

Untitled

So my first Refashion of 2015 is here! I had some terribly boring wide leg black pants I bought at JC Penny’s years ago for work that I haven’t worn since! After purging my closet I realized a simple fix would make this uninteresting pants into a new staple for my ReFashioned Closet! Below are the steps I took for this easy fix. If you don’t sew you can always use No Sew tape or heat set fusing and an iron with the same result!

10696397_10152392231362003_3366405842875462471_n 1Materials:

  1. Pants
  2. Scissors
  3. Elastic
  4. Sewing Pins
  5. Safety Pin
  6. Needle & Thread
  7. Sewing Machine OR Heat set fabric tape and an iron

Jogger collage

  1.  Turn your pants inside out and mark where you’d like to trim them. I tried them on and then pinched the fabric to a fullness that seemed good and marked with chalk.
  2. Pin the area you’d like to trim and cut.
  3. Sew the newly trimmed leg.
  4. Fold over the cuff to a desired length. Since this is a jogger, I wanted to wear it comfortably at the ankle with plenty of room to pull up for a more cropped look.
  5. Sew a seem around the folded hem leaving about two inches for inserting your elastic.
  6. Measure your elastic by wrapping it around your ankle. Cut the measured piece then secure a large Safety Pin to one end.
  7. Insert the elastic using the safety pin into the opening in your hem. Hold on to one end while you push and gather the elastic through your hem and it comes out the other side.
  8. Sew the two ends together. If you do not have a machine sew it by hand and stretch out your hemmed cuff and close up the final two inches of your hem.
  9. TADA! Joggers!

During JoggerSo my first attempt was a bit too baggy and I was not pleased. Often It’s a process to ReFashion. So I went back in and narrowed my leg seam and came out happy in the end!

After Jogger

Tada! I am all about basix and this makes me happy. The “trending” might be over on joggers in fast fashion, but I am loving this simple edging up of pants and will be rocking it for a long time to come.  I am a happy camper. Don’t worry my adorable shoes above are another Thrifted ReFashion I’ll be posting soon!

10629774_10152531970097003_7934416931046353450_nTop: Upsized ReFashioned
Beanie: UpCycled
Knit Coat: SweetLeigh: Handmade by Moi
Glitter Tennies: Thrifted
Jogger Pants: ReFashioned

xoxoBlog Signature

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

16 thoughts on “Refashion 2015: The Jogger Pant

  1. Pingback: Vanessa’s Terrific Trouser Refashion | Refashion Nation

  2. Thanks for this – I just did this to a pair of thrifted trousers and I am so excited to wear them!

  3. Pingback: ReFashion 2015 Upsizing The Maxi Skirt | { S w e e t L e i g h }

  4. Pingback: ReFashion 2015: #SewSolidarity | { S w e e t L e i g h }

  5. Pingback: ReFashion 2015: Crop Tops & Bellies & Visible Belly Outlines, Oh My! | S w e e t L e i g h

Leave a Reply

