SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

Make: Huevos Rancheros

6 Comments

Huevos RancherosI Love Breakfast. Part of why I love it so much is that I it’s often simple to make, both savory and sweet and so satisfying. It doesn’t hurt that I am one of those people who HAVE to have breakfast or I am one Pissy BIACH! I also love one pot/skillet meals, so count on seeing many of those!

My favorite breakfast dish to make is a black Bean frittata that I make often. But this weekend with no black beans in site, I opted for Pinto beans and did a very SoCal take on Huevos Rancheros. This recipe heartily serves  2-4 people depending on how hungry you are!

My simple take:

4 Eggs (You can substitute with tofu if you are Vegan)
1 Large Russett Potato
1 cup of pinto beans (made in the crockpot but canned is an option too)
1/2 of a Tomato
1/3 of an Onion
1 small Avocado
Flour or Corn Tortilla (we had flour)
Coarse Pepper to taste
Pinch of Sea Salt
1tsp of butter (substitute for an additional tsp of olive oil if Vegan)
2tsp of OliveOil
Flour or Corn Tortillas 2-4

1. Cube your potato. Place your skillet or pan on a medium low heat and add your butter and olive oil. If your heat is too high your olive oil can burn. You also want to avoid your butter browning. You want to pan roast not so much fry so roast your potatoes on each side until golden brown.

2. While the potatoes are cooking you want to dice up your avocado, tomato and onion. Once your potatoes are cooked to your satisfaction add your onion. I then added my cooked pinto beans to heat through.

3. Now its time to add the eggs. I opted to do the eggs over hard. You can fry your eggs or serve them the more traditional way, sunny side up. I stuck to one pan and added the eggs over top of my roasted potatoes. I covered the pan with its lid and let the eggs steam over the potatoes and beans. While my eggs were cooking I heated my tortillas on the stove top burners so that they get a nice crisp to them, they will brown and bubble. Watch them carefully and keep the flame low to avoid burning or having flaming tortillas! This takes seconds and turns out so yummy! So good!

4. OK Breakfast is ready to be served! Garnish with your avocado and tomato and finally a generous helping of your pepper and a pinch of salt. Now Ciao Down like a Rancher!

Blog Signature

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

6 thoughts on “Make: Huevos Rancheros

  1. SUCH a good breakfast, haven’t made this in ages! Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Yes, it does sound scrumptious. Thank you. I need to remember to think “outside the box” when deciding on what to eat and serve for breakfast.

  3. Your first recipe post looks muy delicioso!
    Keep them coming!

    🙂 Anna

Leave a Reply

