SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

Crush: Naked Lena Dunham

Leave a comment

Lena Dunham, writer, producer, director of the film, Tiny Furniture and now writer, producer, director of TV show Girls on HBO, has been getting a lot of attention. Girls is the tale of four privileged early 20 something white women muddling through “post” adolescence growing pains in the big city. I find it thoroughly entertaining, smart, funny and honest. Dunham is dead on about the insecurities, and exploration that comes at that age if not without some controversy.

The first season saw a lot of backlash about not being racially diverse although set in New York City, perhaps THE most diverse city on earth. Dunham is addressing those outcries in the second season. In Rolling Stone she was quoted as experiencing “heartbreak at the idea that the show would make anyone feel isolated.”  “All I want to do is make women feel excited and included by the show,” she added, noting that there will be “a multitude of new characters” in the second season. “There are some of color. Some are not. Some are caucasian.” The bottom line is that Dunham will stay true to her own experience and I still relate having passed that phase in my life some time ago.

The second aspect of controversy which resonates with an even broader audience of women is the blanket criticism of or, backlash around Lena Dunham’s easy nudity in every episode. The internet has been harboring snarky commentary on Dunham’s body,  from bloggers to the New York Post, the internet  has been showcasing the national haterade for an extraordinarily average woman’s audacity to be comfortable naked, in her own body. Writer and fat activist extraordinaire Lesley Kinzel wrote a fabulous piece for xojane in which she breaks down the nonsense that is the outrage around Ms. Dunham’s total ease with herself. The nerve.

Lena Dunham on criticism for her ensemble to a charity lunch, where her top was longer than her shorts revealing her fleshy thighs: 

“If Olivia Wilde had gone to a party in … little shorts, she might have been on a ‘weird dressed list’ or been told her outfit was cute. I don’t think a girl with tiny thighs would have received such no-pants attention. I think what it really was … ‘Why did you all make us look at your thighs?’ My response is, get used to it because I am going to live to be 100, and I am going to show my thighs every day till I die.”  

Dunham in the new pants-less spread for V Magazine.

Photos by Terry Richardson for V Magazine Courtesy of the Daily Mail

“Meeting actresses who such a big part of their job is about what they look like, I feel so lucky to be freed from that prison. I ate cake for breakfast on the day of the Emmys; I ate cake for dinner, my workout didn’t require Spanx, and I still feel like I looked better than people expected me to. It was amazing,” Dunham tells V Magazine. “I could feel the envy of every woman in the Sunset Tower.”

xo,

Blog Signature

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

Leave a Reply

