SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

Cinephile: Django Unseen

Leave a comment

This is not a review.

It is not a review because I have not seen the film. It is not that I don’t care for Quentin Tarantino’s work; I love his film obsession and constant play on the genres—not to mention his obsession with words.

I love Tarantino’s borrowing from Django (1966), Mandingo and Mel Brooks’ Blazing Saddles. Brooks’ 1974 effort was the first film of which I know to reference a Black person in the old west; it was a very funny movie touching on racist themes. Tarantino is great at doing film mash-ups and he does them well.

It is not that I won’t see the film; I will probably reserve it on Netflix and with relish look forward to its being sent to my door.

Being a movie lover who forgets what movie I’m seeing as the lights dim, I get so excited at seeing a film in the theater as it was meant to be seen. But I will not go to the theater to see Django Unchained….

Find the rest of my Film View in this piece I wrote for the Morningside Park Chronicle is here.

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

Leave a Reply

