SweetLeigh

A Sustainable Life. Make Magick.

Costume Whore: Happy Halloween!

Leave a comment

I adore Halloween. It is the ultimate encouragement of my need to primp and play! This year when I announced that I was working on three Halloween costumes, the response was where are you going? Ha! I make the costumes and the events will follow doll, is always my reply. This year I am and have already been a Mermaid, a “casual” Unicorn, soon to be the formal Unicorn, I always throw together a Cleopatra. Once you have decided what you are going to be pick a couple of key recognizable features or pieces of clothing to shoot for. Once the core of your look is down the rest is up to the imagination of those around you. Put the effort and detail above the neck and a simple classic dress or your favorite whimsical piece of clothing is transformed. After all, it’s all just clothes what these great characters we transform into are wearing.

This year I fashioned a simple  sheer sheath cocktail dress made from some italian gold lace I bought literally years ago. The fabric is so amazing that I decided to make a couple of different slips to wear underneath to “change’ the dress into three different costumes. One plain slip will suit my Cleopatra along with my gladiator sandals. A longer slip with a tulle and crinoline “mermaid” bottom will morph the dress into my mermaid. And my Formal Unicorn look will just require some furry spats and wrists and I think a ruffled collar would do nicely.

The best thing about my costume this year is that I get to rock it as a cocktail dress long after Halloween is over.  I invested in 3 wigs and will leave the rest to accessories from my shop and/or a plethora of amazing hair and makeup tutorials on YouTube! What are you going to do for Halloween? Do tell!?

It’s been a busy couple of months so I’ll share with you some of my costuming/millinery moments via Instagram:


 

Author: sweetvanessaleigh

I am Vanessa Leigh, maker, writer and witchy goddess in training.

Leave a Reply

